h1

Em’rald City: the spring break edition

March 23, 2010

I’m in Seattle, visiting my dear sister and partaking of the most adorable things to be had in the city. Among them are:

1. The Balagan‘s production of The Jammer, which is described as the “King Lear of roller derby plays.” Not an inaccurate description! This is why I love tiny hole-in-the-wall we-don’t-need-no-stinkin’-budget theaters: the production was so resourceful, so spirited, so darn enthusiastic, that it wasn’t even a case of forgiving or ignoring the cardboard-cutout (literally) ensemble. No, it was to the point where the cardboard was endearing, when the characters could directly interact with cardboard, acknowledge it as cardboard, and still have an emotional confrontation with it. That’s theater at its finest, most pure, most goddamn adorable. I’m definitely going to patronize the Balagan next time I’m in Seattle, just because of that.

(The Jammer also introduced me to an awesome idea: all emotional relationship-related conversations should happen on rollercoasters. It’s so ridiculously appropriate.)

2. Cupcakes! I continue to love and adore Cupcake Royale, the closest to my sister’s apartment and also my heart. I got my “Legalize Gay Cupcakes” teeshirt there last time I was in town, and this time I got a delicious lavender cupcake and also the cutest goddamn teacup on the planet.

3. Puppies!

MARCH20SEATTLE 041

That is Batman, an 8-week-old English/American bulldog mix, the newest addition to my sister’s family. He’s awesome and falls asleep on me a lot.

More later; I’m off to have more adventures!

Leave a Reply

