h1

Week Two Friday Roundup

January 15, 2010

This has been a long, weird week, as such weeks tend to be for me. This round-up is just a collection of links to posts I put up today, but backdated; I think this is the best way to keep the notes as clean and non-ridiculous as possible. I’m also trying to switch to a non-tabbed way of nesting the notes, so you can sort of see the progression of that throughout the week. Today’s notes are easily the neatest.

Monday, I was way too tired and sore to deal with much, so I ended up going to school in my pajamas and bathrobe. I’m not proud. The count of professors who have seen my bathrobe is now up to six, actually. I suspect I won’t get away with that quite so much when I’m a grad student, so I’m trying to get it out of my system early on.

Wednesday, there was a bus-missing incident between Bonny Doon and campus, and my housemates and I ended up hiking five miles through the muddy redwood forest to get to class. I was an hour early, they were an hour late, we were all sort of damp and bedraggled. I also managed to step into a bog and get soaked to the knees, and frankly I’m proud that I made it to that class at all.

On Fridays, Prof. Godzich has a tradition of doing a bit of prepared Q&A before delving into his lecture notes, so today’s edition has some giant walls of text wherein I was trying like mad to basically write down his whole answer word-for-word. It’s… semi-successful but I fear I was typing so fast and loud that I annoyed a few of my peers. Ah well, this is why I sit closer to the back now.

Leave a Reply

