h1

This would be why I hate August

August 13, 2009

I don’t mind admitting that I’m having a hard time this month. I have a long history of seasonal emotional troubles, and late summer is always the worst. I may have taken on more than was wise for summer classes, and I’m now regretting it– but it’s much too late to drop one class, because these sessions are only five weeks long and all the administrative dates are accelerated.

One of the strong contributing factors to my stress right now is the fire. That’s very close to where I live. About five miles. And I’ve lived in California all my life; I’ve always been peripherally aware of seasonal wildfires, always moreso when the smoke gathered and choked us all in Silicon Valley for weeks at a time. It’s not really the smoke I’m worried about just now, though. The wind is gusty and keeps changing– it’s blowing the fire away from us now, yes, but it can easily change in less than twenty minutes, and these fires spread, like… well, like wildfire. It went from nothing to a thousand acres over the course of last night.

I can’t really do anything about this right now, though, except put all my precious papers and instruments in my car with me before I go to school. I’ve got about seven continuous hours of class today, plus a midterm. Originally this post was going to be a P.S.A. about fire-safety and wild-fire preparedness, but I think I’m a little too stressed out to write that up right now. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

